CATEGORY: Spotlight

Eight UC members elected to Institute of Medicine

Newest class includes representatives from four UC campuses.

UC's Institute of Medicine class of 2013

UC's Institute of Medicine class of 2013

Eight University of California members have been elected to the National Academies’ Institute of Medicine.

They join a class of 70 new members and 10 foreign associates announced today (Oct. 21). Since 1970, the IOM has elected more than 200 members affiliated with UC.

Membership in the Institute of Medicine is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health. Chosen by current active members, candidates undergo a highly selective process and are nominated based on their professional achievements and commitment to service.

The Institute of Medicine includes a diversity of talent, as its charter requires that at least one quarter of the membership selected be from outside the health professions, in fields such as law, engineering, social sciences and the humanities.

The newly elected UC members are:

UC Davis

  • Nancy E. Lane, M.D., director, Center for Musculoskeletal Health; Endowed Professor of Medicine and Rheumatology; and director, Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH)
  • Jonna Ann Mazet, D.V.M., M.P.V.M., Ph.D., professor of epidemiology and disease ecology, and executive director, One Health Institute, School of Veterinary Medicine


  • Jody Heymann, M.D., Ph.D., dean, Fielding School of Public Health

UC San Diego

  • Joseph G. Gleeson, M.D., investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor, neurosciences and pediatrics
  • Richard D. Kolodner, Ph.D., member and professor, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research

UC San Francisco

  • Jeffrey A. Bluestone, Ph.D., executive vice chancellor and provost; A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor, UCSF Diabetes Center
  • Molly Cooke, M.D., professor of medicine and director of education, Global Health Sciences
  • Matthew W. State, M.D., Ph.D., Oberndorf Family Distinguished Professor and chair, Department of Psychiatry; and director, Langley Porter Psychiatric Institute

Related links:

Comments are closed.