13 UC faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences

Members include UC San Diego neurosciences professor, UCSF neurology professor.

Roberto Malinow, UC San Diego

Thirteen University of California faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences for 2012. Additionally, a foreign associate was named from UC Berkeley. Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded to a U.S. scientist.

New members, by campus, include:

UC Berkeley

  • John F. Hartwig, professor of chemistry and Henry Rapoport Chair in Organic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry
  • Mary Power, professor, Department of Integrative Biology
  • Bernard Sadoulet, professor, Department of Physics

UC Davis

  • Harris A. Lewin, vice chancellor for research and Robert and Rosabel Osborne Endowed Chair in Evolution and Ecology


  • Sabeeha Merchant, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

UC Riverside

  • Natasha V. Raikhel, Distinguished Professor of Plant Cell Biology and director, Center for Plant Cell Biology, Department of Botany and Plant Sciences

UC San Diego

  • Roberto Malinow, professor, Department of Neuroscience
  • Ruth J. Williams, Charles Lee Powell Distinguished Professor, Department of Mathematics
  • William R. Young, professor of physical oceanography, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

UC San Francisco

  • Louis J. Ptáček, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and John C. Coleman Distinguished Professorship in Neurodegenerative Diseases

UC Santa Barbara

  • Napoleon A. Chagnon, professor emeritus, Department of Anthropology
  • Matthew P. Fisher, professor, Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics and Department of Physics

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

  • John B. Bell, senior staff scientist and group leader, Center for Computational Sciences and Engineering

John Clarke, professor, Department of Physics, UC Berkeley, (United Kingdom) was named a foreign associate to the academy.

This year’s class brings UC faculty membership in the academy to 258.

Comments are closed.